Governor Brown Signs Bill Ensuring Equity for Homeless and LGBT Students

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Sacramento – On Friday, Governor Brown signed AB 1018, legislation which requires community college districts in California to create Equity Plans for both homeless and LGBT students. “There are communities that continue to remain unrecognized and consequently left out of Student Success Funding. AB 1018 addresses this issue and offers a solution to each district, making it a crucial step towards creating a diverse student population” said Assemblymember Reyes. 

Current law mandates that in order to receive Student Success Funding, the Board of each community college is required to develop and maintain a Student Equity Plan for an inclusive community of all students. AB 1018 adds homeless students and LGBT students to the categories that each community college district is required to address in their plans. In addition, AB 1018 would allow community college districts to authorize new in-need student populations to be included in student equity plans. [Office1]

“Although recent efforts from several school boards are encouraging when it comes to the inclusion of minorities and low-income students, AB 1018 will ensure sustained investment in communities of our state that remain neglected” said Assemblymember Reyes. AB 1018 implements student equity plan goals and coordinates services for the targeted student populations through evidence-based practices.

The 47th Assembly District is home to several communities that should benefit from the resources provided by the legislation. AB 1018 will help remove many of the barriers that limit students from enrollment, and will help the state progress as a whole. These investments will also promote both social and economic growth throughout California. To learn more about AB 1018 and to follow it online, click here.

Assemblymember Eloise Gómez Reyes represents Assembly District 47 which includes the cities of Fontana, Rialto, Colton, Grand Terrace, San Bernardino and the unincorporated areas of Muscoy and Bloomington.