Governor Brown Signs AB 617 Renewing Statewide Commitment to Air Quality

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Bell Gardens – Today, Assemblymember Eloise Gómez Reyes (D- San Bernardino) joined with Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. and legislative leaders for a signing ceremony for AB 617. The bill, joint-authored by Assemblymember Reyes and several of her colleagues puts measures in place to reduce both stationary and mobile sources of pollution, representing a historic effort that links the fight for air quality to continued action on climate change.

“Addressing the threat of climate change has been and must continue to be a priority for California” said Assemblymember Reyes. “However, it is just as critical that our leaders prioritize improving the quality of air throughout the state, especially in our most vulnerable communities.  The communities of the Inland Empire have suffered for far too long with polluted air and the destructive health consequences of poor air quality.  As a proud joint author of AB 617 I am confident that this bill will finally bring the state’s attention to our region, and will make a meaningful impact on air quality.”

AB 617 puts in place a uniform system for the annual reporting of emissions of criterial air pollutants and toxic air contaminants from large polluters such as refineries. In addition the legislation requires the State Air Resources Board to produce a statewide strategy to reduce emission of toxic air contaminants in communities affected by high exposure to toxics. These plans will be locally based and developed to allow for focused and direct actions that will maximize benefit.

“This action taken by the Governor and my colleagues in the legislature is a step in the right direction, but we cannot be satisfied. I hope the signing of this historic legislation represents a long-term commitment from state leaders to fight for the environmental quality, clean air and public health of all Californians.”

Assemblymember Eloise Gómez Reyes represents Assembly District 47 which includes the cities of Fontana, Rialto, Colton, Grand Terrace, San Bernardino and the unincorporated areas of Muscoy and Bloomington.