Legislative Effort to Protect Workers from Sexual Harassment Passes Assembly

For immediate release:

Sacramento – Earlier today, AB 1870 authored by Assemblymember Eloise Reyes (D-San Bernardino) the Stop Harassment and Reporting Extension (SHARE) Act, passed the Assembly floor on its way to the State Senate. AB 1870 is one of the foundational pieces of the package of legislation to address the Me Too movement that has had a jarring effect on the Capitol community and even amongst the membership of the legislature inside the Capitol.  AB 1870 was one of the first bills introduced in the 2018 legislative session responding to the details that emerged from the #MeToo movement.

“We all deserve to work in a safe environment. We all deserve to know that we are protected and we certainly deserve to have the time needed to present our complaints against the perpetrators,” said Assemblymember Reyes. “We must take proactive steps to ensure that victims are protected and that they know they are not alone.” Assemblymember Reyes continued, “They must never feel intimidated to share their story. This bill is a first step in our effort to provide some basic protections and legal recourse.”

Introduced at the start of Assemblymember Reyes’ second year in office, the SHARE Act allows the victims of harassment more time to bring their claims forward by extending the current statute of limitations period. The current time to bring forth a claim of harassment in the workplace is only one year. With this legislation, the time is extended to three years. Recent accounts of sexual misconduct inside and outside of government and business have shown the clear need to take a much closer look at the policies in place that enable victims to bring forward claims against their harassers. It is clear that victims need time to cope and remove themselves from possibly dangerous situations. This bill gives our victims the time needed.

AB 1870 next goes to the State Senate to be heard in policy committee. For more information on the bill or to follow it, click here.

Assemblymember Eloise Gómez Reyes represents Assembly District 47 which includes the cities of Fontana, Rialto, Colton, Grand Terrace, San Bernardino and the unincorporated areas of Muscoy and Bloomington.